HIVR4P presents a number of awards to outstanding researchers and advocates in the field of HIV prevention:

New Investigator Awards and the Mathieson Award

All scholarship applicants who meet the eligibility criteria are considered for five New Investigator Awards for outstanding research by a graduate student, postdoctoral fellow or junior faculty member. One of these, the Mathieson Award to a New Investigator in HIV Research, recognizes the late Bonnie Mathieson, former HIV vaccines lead at the U.S. NIH Office of AIDS Research, for her contributions to the HIV research field and her dedication in mentoring young investigators. These awards honor some of the finest work by early career investigators in the field of HIV prevention research.

New Investigator Award recipients will be announced on Wednesday 15 August, and at the Opening Plenary of HIVR4P2018.

The late Bonnie Mathieson, longtime vaccine lead at the U.S. NIH, presents the award
named in her honor to early-career investigator Cassandra Simonich of the Fred Hutchinson
Cancer Research Center at HIVR4P 2016.


2018 New Investigator Award Winners

We are proud to introduce this year’s new investigator awardees.

Christina Balle University of Cape Town, South Africa

Oranat Chuchuen Khon Kaen University, Thailand

Yik Chun Wong University of Hong Kong, China

Julia Roider Klinikum der Universitaet Muenchen, Germany

Jeffrey Schneider Northwestern University, United States



Desmond Tutu Award for HIV Prevention and Human Rights

This recognition, first presented to Archbishop Tutu at the premier biennial HIVR4P conference in Cape Town in 2014, is given every two years to an individual or organization that has done outstanding work to advance both HIV prevention research and the human rights of people affected by HIV.

The Desmond Tutu Award highlights central tenets of the HIVR4P philosophy: that human rights and HIV prevention are inextricably linked; that respect for the human rights of people affected by HIV is essential to slowing the epidemic; and that all people impacted by this epidemic have a central role to play in creating an AIDS-free future. 

Previous recipients of the award include Desmond Tutu, former Archbishop of Cape Town and a beacon for human rights, in 2014; and Ambassador Deborah Birx, Coordinator of the United States Government Activities to Combat HIV/AIDS, in 2016.

The recipient of the 2018 Desmond Tutu Award for HIV Prevention and Human Rights will be announced on Monday 22 October. The award will be presented at the conference Opening Plenary.

Human rights champion and HIV advocate Archbishop Desmond Tutu accepts the award named in his honor at HIVR4P 2014.

U.S. Global AIDS Coordinator Deborah Birx accepts the 2016 Desmond Tutu Award from HIVR4P conference co-chair Nelly Mugo of Kenya.

Omololu Falobi Award for Excellence in HIV Prevention Research Community Advocacy

The biennial Omololu Falobi Award is coordinated by AVAC, with the participation of multiple partner organizations. Presented at HIVR4P, the award pays tribute to the life and work of Nigerian activist Omololu Falobi and highlights the essential role of community advocacy in HIV prevention research.

Omololu Falobi was a leading HIV/AIDS activist, an advocate for prevention research and an exceptional journalist. He established the Journalists Against AIDS in Nigeria (JAAIDS), co-created the Nigeria AIDS eForum, co-founded the Nigerian HIV Vaccine and Microbicide Advocacy Group (NHVMAG), was an instrumental, pioneering member of the Treatment Access Movement (TAM) Nigeria and a key leader of the African Civil Society Coalition on HIV and AIDS. HIVR4P is proud to host the presentation of this deeply meaningful award.

The Omololu Falobi Award for Excellence in HIV Prevention Research Community Advocacy will be presented at the Opening Plenary of HIVR4P 2018.

Conference News


Subscribe to the Newsletter to receive important information about the upcoming Conference.